Caroline calls on schools to enter the Speaker's School Council Awards

Gosport MP Caroline Dinenage is urging school councils throughout the Constituency to enter the Speaker’s School Council Awards 2012.


The awards were first launched in 2009 to recognise the most innovative student-led school council projects in four age groups: 4-7, 7-11, 11-16, and 16-19. They are run by Parliament’s Education Service and supported by the Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons, who presented last year’s awards at the Houses of Parliament to the 20 finalists.


Caroline said:

“School councils are a great way for young people to get involved in democracy and decision-making at an early stage and provide an important voice for pupils on what goes on in their schools.


Having met with the School Councils at most of the 41 schools in Gosport, Hillhead, Lee-on-the-Solent and Stubbington that I have visted in the last 18 months, I know that they deserve to be showcased by these awards. I would strongly encourage them to enter, as hundreds of schools across the country have already registered for this year’s awards. I want to ensure that our local schools are amongst the winners!”.